#### STEVENAGE BOROUGH COUNCIL

# SPECIAL COUNCIL MINUTES

Date: Wednesday, 19 July 2023
Time: 7.00pm
Place: Council Chamber

Present: Councillors: Myla Arceno (Mayor), Jim Brown (Deputy Mayor), Sandra

Barr, Philip Bibby CC, Stephen Booth, Lloyd Briscoe, Rob Broom, Forhad Chowdhury, Nazmin Chowdhury, Michael Downing, John Duncan, Bret Facey, Alex Farquharson, Richard Henry, Jackie

Hollywell, Chris Howells, Mason Humberstone, Wendy Kerby, Mrs Joan Lloyd, Conor McGrath, Andy McGuinness, Maureen McKay, Sarah Mead, Adam Mitchell CC, Margaret Notley, Robin Parker CC, Claire Parris, Ellie Plater, Loraine Rossati, Graham Snell, Simon Speller, Jeannette Thomas, Carolina Veres, Anne Wells and Tom Wren.

**Start / End** Start Time: 7.00pm **Time:** End Time: 7.21pm

### 1 APOLOGIES FOR ABSENCE AND DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST

Apologies for absence were received from Councillors Julie Ashley-Wren, Graham Lawrence CC, Lin Martin-Haugh and Baroness Taylor of Stevenage OBE, and from the Youth Mayor and Deputy Youth Mayor.

There were no declarations of interest.

#### 2 HONORARY ALDERMAN

The meeting had been convened to consider a Motion to confer the title Honorary Alderman on former Councillor Liz Harrington.

Councillor Richard Henry in moving the motion paid tribute to Liz Harrington for her outstanding service to the town as a Councillor and that in her 31 years' service she had been active on many Scrutiny and Area Committees, as well as championing the needs of residents of the Bedwell Ward.

Councillor Michael Downing formally seconded the Motion and paid tribute to Liz Harrington's passion and commitment to the role of councillor, particularly in the field of local authority housing.

Councillor Phil Bibby CC, Leader of the Opposition and Councillor Robin Parker CC, Leader of the Liberal Democrat Group, and many other Members paid tribute to Liz Harrington and spoke in favour of the motion.

It was moved, seconded and **RESOLVED** that in accordance with the provisions of Section 249 of the Local Government Act 1972, the Council confers the title of Honorary Alderman on Mrs Liz Harrington who has rendered over 31 years' eminent service as a Councillor, active on many Scrutiny and Area Committees and representing the people of the Town, particularly in championing the needs of residents in the Bedwell Ward

## **MAYOR**